The charge of "risk of injury to a minor" is extremely broad. It is often added as a separate charge to another offense for which you are charged due to its all-encompassing nature.
At any time that your alleged conduct is seen as impairing or endangering the health, welfare, morals, physical or mental safety of a child under the age of 16, you will be charged with risk of injury to a minor.
The Connecticut-licensed attorneys at Pollack Law Group, P.C. (PLG) understand how law enforcement and state attorneys conduct investigations and charge criminal complaints. Contact us at 800-459-7287 for a FREE initial consultation.
Information About Risk of Injury Charges
Cases that may lead to an additional charge for risk of injury to a minor include:
- Domestic disputes when a child is present in the room or the household (or child abuse)
- Connecticut DUI when a child is present in the vehicle/drunk driving accident in which a minor is in the vehicle struck
- Possession of marijuana in car with a minor present
The relevant statute is Chapter 939, Section 53-21. A person may end up facing criminal charges for any sex crime on a minor. It can be charged up to a Class B felony, up to 20 years in prison and a $15,000 fine.
Under Investigation for Risk of Injury to a Minor? Don't Wait Until You Are Arrested
If you suspect that you may be charged with risk of injury to a minor, speak to an attorney now! Often before formal charges are filed by the Connecticut State Attorney, there is an investigation. Law enforcement tries to gather as much evidence as possible to build the case against you. This is the pre-file stage of a case. Pollack Law Group, P.C. has solid defense strategies, and oftentimes, we can convince prosecutors not to file charges, which is easier than trying to persuade them to drop charges once they have already been filed.
Connecticut Risk of Injury to a Minor • Free Case Evaluation
Disclaimer: No criminal case is exactly like any other. Therefore, we cannot guarantee the same result for you that we have achieved for others. But when our attorneys focus on these types of cases, we may file and argue motions to suppress identification evidence. If we are successful, the state may be left with no case against you, forcing the prosecutor to dismiss the charges.